Riverwood Athletic Hall of Fame

Riverwood Athletic Hall of Fame

2018 Riverwood Athletic Hall of Fame Induction
Friday, September 28, 2018

The Riverwood Athletic Hall of Fame, established in 2012, honors those men and women who made outstanding contributions to Riverwood Athletics. The Hall of Fame is in the entrance hallway of the Tournament Gymnasium.

The purpose of the Hall of Fame is:

  • to recognize and honor past students, coaches, and contributors who have brought distinction, honor, and excellence to Riverwood's athletics program
  • to maintain connections between alumni and the Riverwood community
  • to establish school pride in athletics through recognizing past contributors to the program.

Athletes, coaches, and contributors who have made outstanding contributions to athletics at Riverwood since the school's inception in 1971 are eligible for nomination. Athletes are eligible for nomination five years after graduating.

The idea of a Riverwood Athletic Hall of Fame was conceived by several coaches and teachers in coordination with the Athletic Association. In 2012, former Athletic Director and Head Baseball Coach Mike Santoro organized a Hall of Fame Committee made up of current and former coaches and administrators. Donald Macoy, former Head Girls Soccer Coach and teacher, undertook the momentous task of researching archived information in order to substantiate the merits of potential inductees. The inaugural Hall of Fame class induction took place during Homecoming 2013.


Nomination Procedure
How to nominate:  Make nominations directly to the Athletic Director, Mike Mezzio. Mail completed nomination forms with any supporting documentation to the school (5900 Raider Drive, Sandy Springs, 30328), or send via email (Mezzio@fultonschools.org). The deadline to nominate for the Class of 2018 is August 10, 2018.

Eligibility for nomination:
   *Athlete:  Athletes are eligible for nomination five years after graduating from Riverwood
   *Coach:  Any active, inactive, or retired Coach
   *Contributor:  Any active, inactive, or retired Contributor (Donor/Volunteer)

Who may make nominations:  Raider alumni, Raider faculty, current or retired Raider coaches, and current Riverwood students.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form   .pdf

Online Nomination form (link)



Class of 2018 Inductees

Class of 2017 Inductees

Class of 2016 Inductees

Class of 2015 Inductees

Class of 2014 Inductees

Class of 2013 Inductees

 Athletes  Athletes Contributor Coaches Athletes Athletes
Matt Barry
(Class of 2000)
Cross Country, Swimming, Track
 Bryan Flint
 (Class of 1987)
 Football, Soccer, Wrestling 
Leonard Jones - First Principal when school opened in 1971    Rick McKeone  Bob Carter
 (Class of 1974)

 LaTisha Bryant
  (Class of 2002) 
 Volleyball/Track & Field  

Felipe Davila
(Class of 2002)

 Lyndsey McKeone
 (Class of 2011)
 Basketball, Lacrosse,    Softball, Track

     Mike Santoro  Mike Levy
 (Class of 1997) 
 Lindsay Brecher
 (Class of 1987)
Blais Hickey
(Class of 2009)
Cross Country, Basketball, Track

 Charlie Seamans
 (Class of 2002)
 Baseball, Basketball

Athletes    Jay Lumpkin
 (Class of 1975)

 Nick Cassini
(Class of 1996)

Laurie Jackson
(Class of 1985)
  Bret McDaniel
(Class of 2010)
Cross Country, Swimming, Track

 Tara Myler
 (Class of 1979)
 Cross Country/Track & Field

 Jackie Hasty
(Class of 1983)
Josh Melnick
(Class of 1987)
Football, Baseball
  Harry Mehre III
(Class of 1984)
Football, Basketball, Track, Golf
   Barbara Bonapfel   Chuck Rose
 (Class of 1977)
 Doug Henderson 
 (Class 1976) 
Shan Morris
(Class of 1985)
Football, Baseball, Track, Wrestling
  Amaechi Morton
(Class of 2008)
   Karen Stowell
 (Class of 1978)
 Laura Lee Huttenbach
 (Class of 2001) 
 Cross Country,Soccer, Volleyball, Basketball 
Anthony Maisano
(Class of 1985)
Baseball, Football
       Tyler Thornburg
 (Class of 2007)
 Jelani Jordan
 (Class of 2002) 
Thomas Porter
(Class of 1984)
Football, Baseball
            Zach McKeone
 (Class of 2006)
 Wrestling, Cross Country,Track & Field 
Juan Trujilio
(Class of 2002)
      Coaches    Fallon Stokes
 (Class of 2000)
 Basketball, Track & Field 
Maura Whalen
(Class of 1987)
Soccer, Basketball, Track
        Dennis Goss  Chris Shuman
 (Class of 1978)
          Isaac Seals  Shaun Traub
(Class of 1995)
  Cross Country,Track & Field
Contributor          Eric Wunderlich
(Class of 1986)

Trish Hope

            William Hoskyn
  Football Head Coach, Athletic Director
            Leigh Hudson
  Volleyball Head Coach,
  Basketball/Soccer/Football/Baseball Coach
            Karen Lynch
  Volleyball/Gymnastics Coach, Athletic Director